2017 national winners and finalists in the Pioneers category from Denmark, Sweden, Finland and the United Kingdom.

In Denmark the 2017 national winner in the Pioneers category is the team “BlackStar” from Midtsjællands Efterskole, with the project entitled “Lazarus”.   The team consists of Lukas Leth and Carl Vistisen and is coached by their teacher Mr Jens Brix.

In Finland the 2017 national winner is the team “Ikaros” from Winellska skolan consisting of Alvar Winquist, Axel Broman and Elias Westerén with Mr Jonas Pått, as their coach.

In Sweden the winner is the team “Rymdraket” from Nyströmska skolan with the project entitled “A future Mars city”. The team members are Anja Saksi and Elia Andersson, with Dr Peter Lindström as coach.

In the United Kingdom the national winner in the Pioneers category is the team “MrBWakeford” from Winchcombe Secondary School, with the project “Daedalus – Sustaining life beyond earth”. The team consists of Lucy Payne, Millie Wilson and Thierry Fox and is coached by their teacher Mr Barnaby Wakeford.

The following three Pioneer teams are also qualifying to the semi-final that will be organized in the Space Science Camp in Soroe, Denmark from 15 June to 17 June.

  • Team Maimar, from Frijsenborg Efterskole, Denmark
  • Team NdaliaOdysseus, from the Royal Wootton Bassett Academy, United Kingdom
  • Team Daanish, from the Hymers College, United Kingdom

2017 National Odysseus Winners in Spain and in Portugal announced

The evaluations at national level in Spain and in Portugal have been completed.

In the Pioneers category the winner for 2017 in Spain is the team “queiruga“ from the Colegio Jesús-María in Burgos, with the project entitled “The room bottom”. Congratulations to the members of the “queiruga” team, María Sicilia Prieto, Pablo Olmedillo Santillana, Daniel Rebolleda Hernández and to their teacher – coach Dr Miguel Angel Queiruga Dios.

Congratulations also to the 2017 national winner for Portugal in the Pioneers category.  This is the team “MarianaSilva” from Escola Básica e Secundária Emídio Navarro in Setubal, with the project “À procura de um sinal: Estaremos sozinhos no Universo?” and with members Mariana Silva and Inês Oliveira, with Ms Sofia Reis as their teacher coach.

Along the two national winners eight more teams have qualified to the regional final that will be held from 16th to 19th of May in Madrid in order to select the team that will go to the International Final next July.  The teams that also qualified to the next round are:

  • Team “EXODUS”, from IES Cardenal Cisneros, Spain
  • Team “Pasión espacial II”, from IES ¨Tháder¨, Spain
  • Team “godoca”, from Institut Guindàvols, Spain
  • Team “MARTETINTOS” from IES AZUER, Spain
  • Team “Trestíficos” from Institut Guindàvols, Spain
  • Team “Ad Infinitum” from Sagrada Família – Horta school, Spain
  • Team Apollo from Escola Secundária de São Pedro do Sul, Portugal
  • Team “TheSpaceIsStrange2017” from Collegi Safa Horta Barcelona, Spain